Confessions of a Former Florida Girl: My Beach Bag Essentials

IMG_2703You can take the girl out of Florida and drop her in freezing cold Wisconsin, but you can’t take Florida out of the girl. I cannot go to the beach empty handed as a born and bred Florida girl. You need to bring sunscreen to reapply, money for ice cream on the pier, headphones, sunglasses, and so much more. It might drive my Dad nuts when when I haul all this to our yearly beach house trip to Ocean Isle Beach, NC, but a beach bag is a must with all that! Here are a few of my beach bag essentials that make every trip to the beach perfect.

glo minerals The Cherry Balm

My lips get destroyed between dry winters in Wisconsin and sunny summers in Florida. The lovely ladies at Velvet Waxing Studio in Madison introduced me to the incredible lip balm The Cherry Balm from glo minerals that has saved my lips from chapping or burning between my two homes. I never leave the house without The Cherry Balm. While you might get some weird looks when you pull this glue stick sized lip balm out of your bag, I promise it is worth the stares. The Cherry Balm protects lips with full spectrum SPF 15 and locks in the moisture with hemp seed oil, meadowfoam, and mango seed butter. The balm costs $14, but it has lasted me over a year. It’s done wonders for my lips, soothing and healing them when I first bought it December 2014 and kept them protected until I ran out of my first stick this past January. It is worth the investment and is a total must for your beach bag when you’re out there lounging in the harsh summer sun. Skip the cheap lip balm next time you’re at the drugstore and order The Cherry Balm instead. Plus, if you aren’t a cherry person, it also comes in mint.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream

After I’ve protected my lips, I need to add some color to them. Yes, I’m that person that wears makeup to the beach. I think some eyeliner, mascara, and a pretty summer lip color brings the whole beach look together. My favorite lip colors lately are Nyx’s Soft Matte Lip Creams. They go on beautifully, and I adore their bright, summery colors like pinks and corals right now. Even after eating, drinking, and chatting during the day, the color lasts with little transfer until I wash it off at night. This one is San Paulo that offered a perfect pop of pink. There are 34 shades of Soft Matte Lip Creams, so I guarantee there will be at least one you will fall in love. They’re small and perfect to slip into your beach bag before you head out for some fun in the sun.

Kaitlin Kendall Design Donut Floppy Hat and Fancy Bands

Etsy browsing is one of guilty pleasures. I love supporting small, independent businesses, and I actually find a lot of them through Instagram and then follow the links to their Etsy stores. Instagram is a great place to find small businesses with unique, handmade products, and it’s also a great place to share your finds so others can support these shops too. One of my favorite finds is Kaitlin Kendall Design (@katiebowhead on Instagram). I saw her post about these handpainted ‘Donut’ floppy sun hats and I had to have one for our beach house trip. It was so cute and I got tons of compliments on it. It also fit perfectly and was perfect for shading my face and shoulders from the sun. Kaitlin (a fellow Florida girl) also threw in a couple knotted hair ties or “fancy bands” with the hat. These hair ties are great because they’re loose enough to not rip your hair out later, but tight enough to hold up against the waves when you go for a dip. She also has the hat in a watermelon design for an even more summery or spring feel.  I recommend checking out her Instagram or Etsy store to see her other gorgeous products like her bow bracelets, wristlets, lanyards, and headbands.

Cheers, Josie 

One thought on “Confessions of a Former Florida Girl: My Beach Bag Essentials

Leave a Reply

