Turning Mistakes Into Meals: Twice Baked Loaded Potato Chicken Casserole

Not every recipe I try works out; some are pretty disastrous and can’t be salvaged, but hey, I tried my best. But, even some mistakes can be turned into another awesome meal that even my picky little sister, Lily, will eat.

IMG_2848

I tried to make oven roasted potatoes that were cooked in a little bit of chicken broth and butter on top, but they were just not cooking through. After four hours in the oven, I was finally fed up and pulled them out. I didn’t want to waste all the potatoes, so I tossed them in some tupperware and put them in the fridge. I guess they kept cooking from all the heat in the enclosed space, because when I took them out for dinner the next day, they tasted amazing and were cooked through.

I was making dinner for just Lily and myself, so I knew I was limited in my options since Lily only lives off of bacon and chicken. I decided to wing it and put a little of everything she liked in there. So while I can’t give y’all a specific recipe since this was literally me dumping things into a bowl, praying it worked, and praying Lily would eat it, I can tell you what I did generally to make this awesome makeshift casserole. That’s the beauty of it: you can make it whatever you want after starting with the basics!

Twice Baked Loaded Potato Chicken Casserole

I turned the potatoes into mashed potatoes, and since they already had a great flavor from the chicken broth, I didn’t have to add much to them. I tossed in a dollop of sour cream and a spoonful of ranch for some more flavor. Since my potatoes were a bit dry from being in the oven so long, I added milk and a little butter until they were a smoother consistency. Also, add your favorite seasonings; I used sea salt, coarse ground black pepper, and garlic powder. This was all to taste, so you can change it up all you like.

  1. Now that you have the potatoes, cut up some cooked chicken breast (I used about 1 and a half) into chunks and dice six strips of crispy bacon
  2. Layer the bottom of the dish with a little olive oil and the chicken breast chunks
  3. Mix half of the bacon and about a 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese (more if you really like cheese) straight into your mashed potatoes
  4. Layer the mixture over the chicken and top it with as much cheddar cheese as your heart desires and then add the rest of the diced bacon
  5. Cook at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until the cheese has melted and everything is heated through
  6. Serve with sour cream and fresh green onions

Send me some of y’all’s variations and let me know what you think. Enjoy!

Cheers, Josie

Leave a Reply

