Friday Favorites: Challah-lujah it’s the Weekend

Happy Friday y’all! I hope the week didn’t wear you down too much and you’re ready for a relaxing weekend. The Olympics officially start tonight, so be sure not to miss the opening ceremonies. I love getting to see the show every country puts on each time. I’ve got a few new favorite things to share with y’all, so kick back, relax, and have a look at my latest obsessions!

Challahlujah Breakfast Sandwich

The brainchild of my friend Stephanie and I is quickly becoming one of my favorite breakfast dishes. Thanks to some Instagram inspiration from the always punny @unkoshermarket, we came up with the Challahlujah Breakfast sandwich: corn beef hash, over-medium eggs, and cheese, all on a toasted challah roll. To be honest, it was more the name we were proud of than anything, but the second we took a bite into it at work the next day, we knew we had a masterpiece on our hands. Luckily, we both work at Suzy Q’s Hometown diner, so Steph asked Suzy (aka Mom) if we could put it on the specials board. And it actually sold! Talk about a confidence boost for a girl who just tests her recipes out on her family!

IMG_3159

Smashbox Always on Liquid Lipstick

There are two things that make finding a good, true red liquid lipstick hard for a girl like me:

  1. I talk so much it comes off too quickly.
  2. I’m so pale

But thanks to the collaboration between Smashbox and YouTuber goddess extraordinaire Lilly Singh (aka IISuperwomanII), I’ve found a product that pays no mind to any of these issues. The Smashbox Always on Liquid Lipstick alone is a godsend. It is a comfortable matte that doesn’t leave your lips dry and begging for lip balm thanks to infused primer oil. I wear it for six hours at work where I’m talking to customers and coworkers constantly, and I don’t have to add lip balm or reapply once. Smashbox’s website says Advanced Polymer Technology makes it stay put for up to 8 hours, which it easily does. I made mine last for 12 hours with minimal fading once! They claim it’s “smudge-proof, budge-proof, and non-feathering,” which it is for me!

Could it get any better? Oh, I assure you it can. Throw in the gorgeous genius that is Lilly Singh and you get the best shade of the bunch: BAWSE. One of my favorite terms is girl boss, and Lilly embodies that. Her “no-rules red” collab with Smashbox is my favorite color ever, and gives me a confidence boost whenever I step out of the house with it on. I get so many compliments from family, friends, and strangers every time I wear it. And what Badger fan would I be if I didn’t have a show stopping red to wear to games at Camp Randall?  At $24 a tube, this is a bit pricer than what I usually go for, but it is so worth it! I also own the Always On Liquid Lipstick in Babe Alert, a nude rose.

Ben Nye Final Seal Matte Makeup Sealer

final seal

This liquid gold is cement for your face in a tiny bottle. It is actual magic. The product description on Amazon reads “Apply over any completed makeup for smudge and water resistance. Final Seal keeps makeup in place on performers who heavily perspire.” Well, what better place to test it than a hot, greasy diner in the middle of the summer in Florida? The regular customers that come in the end of the day kept complimenting my makeup, since it’s usually been melted off by the time they see me during the day. Not with this beautiful blue spray. Ben Nye Final Seal gives a gorgeous matte finish that holds on for hours. I bought the 1 oz bottle to give it a test run, and I’ll definitely be buying one of the larger ones after this.

ColourPop Eyeshadow

As you can easily see, we’ve got a theme going here. I’ve been on a makeup kick lately, and one of my favorite finds is ColourPop, especially their eye shadows. The colors are stunning and super pigmented, and at $5, a great price. After $30, you get free shipping within the US, so there is always an excuse to get more beautiful colors like this. They have everything from pinks to metal colors and metallic to pearlized finishes. I was nervous to buy some of the more ~~fun~~ colors like blues and greens, but if you’ve got the confidence, you can rock them casually during the day just as easily as you can at a party. I won’t lie, half of what makes me fall in love with a shade is it’s description. A few of my favorites?

  • Bubbly: A truly angelic pink with tons of silver and bright bubble gum pink glitter = A princess pink that is totally rave worthy.
  • Girly: Creamy vanilla with a flash of pink and gold duo chrome finish. Girly, the perfect way to class up your stripper heels.
  • Lovely: Soft light gold with shimmering flecks of multi- dimensional glitter, wear anywhere from a sweet afternoon tea to a belligerent night in Vegas.
  • Tea Party: A versatile soft peachy pink with gazillion silver glitters and subtle hints of pale pink glitter. Highlight anything and everything with it! This shade is made for you if: you love pink champagne, sparkles, and tea parties (duh).

 

 

Cheers,  Josie

Leave a Reply

