Friday Favorites: The Final Five Are “Setting the World On Fire”

Happy Friday, y’all! I hope the week didn’t wear you out too much, since you were stuck staying up till midnight every night to watch the Olympics (cough NBC cough). The summer is quickly coming to an end. Teachers and students are heading back to school, the heat waves of August are rolling in, and I’ll be heading up to Wisconsin soon. This time next week, I’ll already be moving into my first apartment! Here are some Friday Favorites to take into the weekend and help you through next week. Let me know some of your favorite things from the week!

“Setting the World On Fire” — Kenny Chesney feat. P!nk

Kenny Chesney is my favorite artist. For my 16th birthday, my parents got me front row sandbar tickets to his concert with Tim McGraw, and it was a religious experience. The first song I ever heard by him was “When the Sun Goes Down” when I ten, and I was half asleep in the car on the way back from the doctor’s. I made my mom play the song three more times in a row. I’ve eagerly awaited every new album since then, and while the past few years didn’t do much for me, the release of  The Big Revival brought me back to that little girl in the car falling in love with Kenny Chesney for the first time.

So when the latest single from the upcoming album, Cosmic Hallelujah, dropped, I freaked. This has to be one of my favorite Kenny Chesney songs ever, and featuring P!nk? I mean, hellooooo? How perfect! It’s such a feel good song about being young, wild, and free, a theme Kenny Chesney has always kept throughout the years. Just look at the lyrics!

Up all night and we were feelin’ so good
Yeah, we got a little higher than we probably should
We were in a hotel singin’ in the hallway lights
We were strikin’ the matches right down to the ashes
Setting the world on fire, setting the world on fire

This is a must download for your weekend playlist. It is also available on Spotify!

Alex and Ani

When I opened the latest Alex and Ani email, I actually screamed at work. Staring up at me under the headline “Show off your spirit with new collegiate additions” was a picture of shiny, new Wisconsin bangle. How could I not make this a Friday Favorite? I’ve been dying for a Wisconsin bangle to complete my #charmedarms game day look, and to wear around campus. I even tweeted at Alex and Ani earlier this year begging them to make one, and they came through! Now the hard part is deciding between gold and silver. The Wisconsin bangle, and five more new collegiate additions, launch Monday on the Alex and Ani website.

img_3843

The Final Five

I don’t get emotional about sports often, and when I do it’s usually me screaming obscenities at Badger football games when the refs make terrible calls. But every time the Olympics come around, I always get emotionally invested.

The girls of the Final Five captured my heart this year. From Aly’s happy tears when she slayed her floor routine for individual all around, to Laurie whispering to herself, “I got this,” before completing her beam exercise which helped the U.S. grab the gold, everything these incredible ladies have done has made me so emotional. Don’t even get me started on the angel to grace this earth, Simone Biles. Her face when she won gold? I was tearing up too. I’m pretty sure I’ll be searching for some Final Five posters to hang in my apartment. These ladies kicked ass, and I’ll try my damndest to put as much heart and soul into what I love the same way they did.

tumblr_obrwjhklQf1twpg5io1_540

Leave a Reply

