Souper Saturdays: Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

It was rough coming back to Wisconsin after a winter break in the Florida sun. It was nice seeing my family and friends back home, but coming back to those frigid temps wasn’t as fun. It also meant cooking for myself again. Cooking dinner isn’t as fun or relaxing as it used to be since I get home so much later from class than last semester.

img_5450

Solution? Weekend meal prep! I don’t “meal prep” like I’ve seen other people and bloggers do, where I have stuff prepackaged and make 5 different meals out of one chicken. I meal prep by making one big dish I know will last me a week, like my Stuffed Pepper Soup , that I keep in the fridge in case I get home and don’t feel like cooking. This keeps me from just saying “Screw it,” and ordering from EatStreet. Saturdays have turned into my recipe experimenting days, especially for soups and stews, and that’s how my Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup was born. I love Panera chicken and wild rice soup, so I decided to make a big pot to satisfy the cravings. It’s warm, savory, and super easy to make. Soup is perfect for the cold winter days and for coming home after a long day of work, class, and org meetings. Just pop it in the microwave to reheat and you’re set! Use this recipe if you need to warm your bones or are just in the mood for some comfort food.

Pro Tip 1: I went ahead and bought packaged mirepoix for this recipe to keep prep time down, but if you’d rather make your own, it is equal parts carrot, celery, and onion.

Pro Tip 2: This was DELICIOUS with the fresh, crusty Italian bread I bought fresh that morning! I highly recommend serving this up with some.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 40+ minutes
Total Time: ~1 hour 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • ½ cup of uncooked wild rice
  • 1 pound of cubed chicken breast
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 ½ cups of mirepoix
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • ¼ cup of all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups of chicken broth
  • ½ cup of water
  • 1 cup of cream
  • Mix of chopped fresh herbs to taste (thyme, parsley)

Instructions

  1. Rinse the wild rice in a strainer until the water runs clear. Season chicken breast with salt and pepper. Set aside both.
  2. Heat oil and butter in a large, heavy-bottomed pot over medium-high heat. Add the mirepoix and season with salt. Cook 2-3 minutes or until the veggies are slightly softened.
  3. Add the bay leaf and minced garlic and cook for about a minute.
  4. Add the wild rice to pot and stir to coat in oil and butter. Cook 2-3 minutes or until toasted and fragrant.
  5. Lower the heat to medium, sprinkle flour over the mixture, and stir. Cook the flour for 1-2 minutes or until no longer raw. Make sure it doesn’t brown!
  6. Add the chicken broth and water (about 2 cups at a time), stirring continuously until it’s all added. Bring the mixture to a boil and then lower to a simmer.
  7. Add the cubed chicken breast and cover. Cook for about 40 minutes (stirring every 10 minutes) or until the wild rice is cooked to your liking. I cooked mine for the 40 minutes because I like my wild rice crunchy.
  8. Add cream and chopped herbs. Taste soup and adjust seasoning with salt and black pepper, all to taste!

Enjoy!

img_5451

Cheers,  Josie

Leave a Reply

