4 Pepper Beef Chili

Dad and I are on a quest to find the perfect homemade chili recipe. For the past few years, we’ve tried pretty much every seasoning packet and starter box the Publix seasonings isle had to offeri. We haven’t had much luck.

IMG_6072

So I finally decided to try make my own recipe this weekend without any starters or packets. I consulted a few recipes on Pinterest for a general consensus of what spices and beans to use, but this is all my own creation.  It’s still chilly up here in Wisconsin, and I need another meal I can make a bunch of and leave in the fridge to eat throughout the week. And chili freezes well too!

I made my weekly run to Trader Joe’s on Friday, came home, heated up my trusty soup pot, and hoped I could make something decent. And let me tell y’all, I think I finally did it! I decided to go with a 4 Pepper chili using a green pepper, red pepper, jalapeño pepper, and green chili peppers. It had the perfect balance of heartiness and heat, and it reheats really well as leftovers. I topped it off with a little sour cream, green onion, and cheddar cheese for that traditional chili presentation.

IMG_6080

The amount I made is probably enough for 5 people, so this recipe is really easy to double for bigger batches to freeze and use throughout the winter (or spring if you’re in Wisconsin). Go ahead and give it a try, and let me know what you think! As someone who likes more beef and less beans in her chili, I’d play with that if I was just making it for myself, but as a standard chili, I think it’s great! What would you add or substitute to make your perfect chili? Let me know in the comments below!

IMG_6095

4 Pepper Beef Chili

Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 2 hours
Total Time: ~2 hours 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of ground beef, lean
  • 4-5 strips of bacon
  • 1/2 each of a green and red pepper
  • 1/2 small white or yellow onion
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 8 oz of pinto beans
  • 8 oz of kidney beans
  • 1 can of green chilies (4.5 oz)
  • 1 1/2 cans of tomato sauce (16 oz and 8 oz)
  • 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes with green chilies (16 oz)
  • 1 tablespoon of chili powder
  • 1/2 a tablespoon of oregano
  • 3/4 a tablespoon of cumin
  • 1 tablespoon of parsley flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dried mustard
  • Pinch of paprika and cayenne
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional for serving: cheese, sour cream, green onion

Instructions

  1. Brown the ground beef and put in a paper towel lined bowl to drain. Chop the veggies while it cooks.
  2. Chop up the strips of bacon and fry them. Add those to the bowl to drain, leaving a bit of fat in the pot to cook the veggies.
  3. Add the veggies and the garlic. Cook until softened, about 8 minutes.
  4. Add the spices and mix until the veggies are coated.
  5. Add the ground beef, bacon, and beans to the pot. Mix well.
  6. Add the tomatoes, tomato sauce, green chilies. Stir to combine.
  7. Simmer for 2 hours, stirring often to keep the bottom from burning

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cheers,  Josie

One thought on “4 Pepper Beef Chili

Leave a Reply

