Door County Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies

In July, my parents and youngest sister took a road trip up from Florida to visit me, and while they were here we took my first (and hopefully not last) jaunt to Door County. The area is known for its cherries, and we were there right before they went in season. Passing the cherry orchards and seeing the bright yellows fading into the deep reds for the upcoming season was beautiful and something I’ve never seen before.

Of course I had to bring some cherry souvenirs home, so I went for the dark chocolate covered cherries. They were the best I’ve ever had, and I made sure to grab an even bigger bag of them (and one to send to my lovely girlfriend Brigid) before I left. And as someone who loves new recipes, the second I got them home I started wondering what else I could do with them. Then it hit me: Door County Cherry Chocolate Chip Cookies!

IMG_7685

Let’s be honest, fresh chocolate chip cookies are some of the best things in the world, and you can’t go wrong adding delicious dark chocolate covered cherries to them. This is a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe you can find on the back of any bag of chocolate chips, but I just make a few little changes to make it my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. Using flaky sea salt instead of table salt gives it a little extra salty bite that I love. Yes, I love salty chocolate chip. I know it’s weird way to describe it, but I swear it’s good. Everyone at the office loved them when I brought them in, so I promise there are other people who like it. Trust me, the sea salt is great, especially when paired with the tartness of the cherries.

I thought I’d give a new recipe format a try, with a PDF version available here. I’ll still include the gallery of step-by-step photos on each post. Let me know what you think of the new layout and if you’d like to see more like this. Enjoy!

Door

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cheers,  Josie

 

Leave a comment